2019 ATP Award Winners Announced

Rafael Nadal is the top player of 2019, with ATP’s Roger Federer, Andy Murray and Matteo Berrettini also receiving awards for their season.

The winner of the “Comeback Player of the Year” category was Andy Murray. The former No. 1 world-class athlete missed the second half of the 2017 season and confined to six tournaments in 2018 due to chronic hip problems. That same year he underwent hip surgery and returned to action at the tournament level in June. The British managed within two years to climb from No. 839 to 87th in 2019.

Most improved player of the year” was Matteo Berrettini, who made the big surprise at the US Open, where he reached the semifinals. It was a thrilling year for the Italian, who also won two titles, in Budapest and Stuttgart, and having never been in the Top 50 before, he managed to enter the Top 10 this year, rising to No. 8 in the world.

Jannik Sinner won the “Newcomer of the Year” award, the 18 year old athlete climbed from No. 553 to 78th in 2019 and won the Next Gen ATP Finals, becoming the youngest athlete being in the top 80 at the age of 18 since Rafael Nadal.

The Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship” award was won for the second year in a row by Rafael Nadal displaying the best fair play, professionalism and respect amongst players, on and off the pitch.

ATP Masters 1000 Tournament of the Year” was voted the BNP Paribas Open (Indian Wells) for the sixth time. Built amidst natural beauty, the Indian Wells Tennis Garden offers state-of-the-art facilities and amenities, plenty of stadiums, allowing fans to watch the players closely, and unparalleled dining options.

ATP Masters 500 Tournament of the Year” was voted for the third time the Abierto Mexicano Telcel presentado por HSBC (Acapulco). The Acapulco tournament had a record attendance in 2019, welcoming more than 55,000 fans.

Finally, “ATP Masters 250 Tournament of the Year” was voted for the third time in five years the Qatar ExxonMobil Open (Doha). Doha has set high standards since its founding in 1993 and under the guidance of former player Karim Alami, the tournament continues to build on its reputation for excellent facilities and hospitality.

Source & Image:

agni varthaliti2019 ATP Award Winners Announced