News

Serena’s misconduct

The episode kicked off in the second set of the second set when Mouratoglou coached Serena and the referee Carlos Ramos immediately realized it, warning the American.

“I do not steal to win, I prefer to lose,” said Serena, after that, arguing that the referee made a big mistake.

Serena preceded a break later in 3-1, but Naomi Osaka immediately replied and reduced to 3-2. The American then broke into her racket, but was the second “misconduct” and Ramos punished her with a point penalty, the score being automatically 3-2, 0-15.

Things got worse for Serena, who suffered another break in the 7th game. She was back with 4-3 and turned to Ramos again, telling him that his first warning act was unfair and that he had to apologize. She did not get what the American wanted and called “referee” and “thief” because she “stole” one point with point penalty in the 6th game.

Ramos did not accept this behavior, punishing her again. It was the 3rd offense and game penalty for Serena, who suddenly stayed behind with 5-3 in the 2nd set.

Osaka got the win with 6-2,6-4 and Serena gave her a hug but did not give her hand to Ramos and once again asked him to apologize.

userEditorSerena’s misconduct