Spain crowned champion for the 6th time!!!

Spain crowned world champions for the sixth time in its history after beating Canada 2-0 in front of the ardent fans who had overwhelmed Caja Magica in Madrid.

World No. 1 Rafael Nadal completed his undefeated run, defeating Denis Shapovalov 6-3, 7-6 (7) in his last fight, thus sealing the title. Roberto Bautista Agut had earlier put the Spaniards in front by beating Felix Auger-Aliassime 7-6 (3), 6-3.

This was the 6th title for Spain which has won all its titles in the last twenty years (2000, 2004, 2008, 2009, 2011 and 2019).

All five members of the Spanish team – Nadal, Bautista Agut, Feliciano Lopez, Pablo Carreno Busta and Marcel Granollers – played their part in Spain’s success in Madrid. Bautista Agut, who left and returned to the tournament after his father’s death just last Thursday, deserves special mention.

Great protagonist Rafael Nadal said, among other things, “I couldn’t be happier. An unforgettable moment here at this amazing stage. The crowd was just a joke – we can’t thank them enough. And our team spirit prevails. ”

For Shapovalov and Auger-Aliassime, there has been no repeat of the triumph in the 2015 Junior Davis Cup, but it is certain that they will claim the title again in the coming years as neither of them has yet to close 21 years old.

Cover Photo: Paul Zimmer

stratos chiotisSpain crowned champion for the 6th time!!!